Who’s next to enter the Poly Football Hall?

This is a fun game to play each year now: Who will be in next year’s class of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame? There are plenty of great candidates.

Some of the prime ones remaining, off the top of my head: Junior Ah You, Charlie Ane, Bob Apisa, Herman Clark, Riki Ellison, Joe Francis, Aaron Francisco, Rockne Freitas, Chris Kemoeatu, Ma’ake Kemoeatu, Al Lolotai, Karl Lorch, Vince Manuwai, Itula Mili, Chris Naeole, Jim Nicholson, Al Noga, Niko Noga, Vai Sikahema, Maa Tanuvasa, Lofa Tatupu, Charlie Wedemeyer.

Keep in mind that the committee, so far, has heavily weighed the candidates’ NFL careers (for the most part). That doesn’t mean someone like Joe Francis or Charlie Wedemeyer won’t get in, it just means it might be a while.

This is obviously a Hawaii-centric list. I’m sure the selection committee will come up with plenty more great candidates representing all of Polynesia.

I’m told that in 2016 the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame will begin honoring a professional player of the year each year, like it started with a college player of the year in 2015 (Marcus Mariota).

Also, Dick Vermeil has been added to the PFHOF selection committee.


  1. st. anthony trojan January 25, 2015 4:42 pm

    omg… that list can go on for years…. the Clark brothers from the past come to mind…Neal Blaisdell… George brothers…

  2. Ray Aunese January 26, 2015 3:31 am

    Sal Aunese and Pisa Tinoisamoa

  3. bigislandkurt January 26, 2015 8:43 am

    I would add Pisa Tinoisamoa to that list. He earned it.

  4. Dave Reardon January 26, 2015 11:17 pm

    Yes, Pisa was an oversight on my part. We could also add Levi Stanley.

  5. Warbow January 29, 2015 11:33 am

    Bob Apisa and Junior Ah You gets my vote.

    Onosai Tanuvasa should be considered. He is a high school legend for guys my age.

  6. KIMO AUSTIN February 10, 2015 8:44 pm

    Two great Iolani greats from the past, Allan an Barry Napoleon not sure of the college. Also Jimmy Akau and LeRoy (the Hyphen) Ka-ne starred at Dayton Univ.

Comments are closed.