Who should be in next class of Polynesian Football Hall?

I felt very fortunate to be in attendance at the inaugural enshrinement ceremony of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame on Thursday at the Hawaii Convention Center. Thanks to my friend Nate Jones for inviting me.

What a tremendously successful and powerful event. It’s so impressive that so many people could marshall their resources in just a few months to make it happen.

Kurt Gouveia, Olin Kreutz, Kevin Mawae, Ken Niumatalolo, Junior Seau, Jack Thompson and Herman Wedemeyer are all extremely worthy members of the first class.

Now, as co-emcee Vai Sikahema said Thursday, it is time to being debating next year’s class. Off the top of my head, I’d go with Bob Apisa, Riki Ellison, Rockne Freitas, Al Lolotai, Al Noga, Niko Noga, Jesse Sapolu, Maa Tanuvasa, Mosi Tatupu, Mark Tuinei and Charlie Wedemeyer.

I know … that’s enough for TWO classes. The selection committee has a tough job.

Please share who else you feel is deserving.



  1. Dave Reardon January 25, 2014 11:54 pm

    My friend Luki Thompson points out that I left off Junior Ah You and Charlie Ane … of course they also should be enshrined ASAP.

  2. LuAnne January 26, 2014 6:55 am

    Mark Tuina, Dallas Cowboys!!!

  3. Taleni Pahulu January 26, 2014 7:02 am

    A few deserving names come to mind: Jesse Sapolu, Mark Tuinei, Vai Sikahema, Mosi Tatupu

  4. Leeward Side January 26, 2014 7:14 am

    What about Chris Naeole? Other than Jesse Sapolu, Mosi Tatupu, and maybe Mark Tuinei, I don’t agree that the others that you mention would be any more deserving. He was a consensus first-team All-American at the University of Colorado and was drafted as the number 10 pick in the first round of the 1997 NFL draft and started for 11 seasons in the NFL.

  5. Talavou Fitisemanu January 26, 2014 7:54 am

    All are great and worthy candidates.. personally, I’m rooting for Mosi Tatupu.

  6. HwnRush January 26, 2014 8:41 am

    Bob Apisa, Junior Ah You, Joe Onosai, Maa Tanuvasa, Allen Allen, Ben Agbayani, Al Noga.

  7. Dave Reardon January 26, 2014 10:59 am

    Leeward: I’m sure Chris will be considered strongly in coming years. He’s worthy.

  8. Dave Reardon January 26, 2014 11:00 am

    Taleni: Little bit awkward for Jesse and Vai, as well as Ma’a, because of their leadership roles in the hall of fame, but they do deserve to be enshrined so I’m sure they will be at some point.

  9. Steve January 26, 2014 5:46 pm

    All great candidate mentioned by the fellow posters. What about Jonah Lomu?

  10. Sara January 26, 2014 6:04 pm

    I like your list. I’d also like to see Charlie Ane and Joe Onosai.

  11. CK8 January 27, 2014 8:56 am

    Jimmy and Herman Clark, Karl Lorch(KP) Arnold Morgado, Russ Francis

  12. gulchgirl January 27, 2014 1:01 pm

    Herman Clark, David Hughes, Kani Kauahi, Mark Tuinei are just a few names that come to mind.

  13. Wilipule January 30, 2014 7:36 am

    How about Joe Francis?

  14. fshnpoi February 8, 2014 6:50 am

    i definitely agree kp is a great selection..maybe this sounds crazy but, what about norm chow, he’s been coaching some of the best in the business for a long time.

Comments are closed.