Hawaii football: Craig Stutzmann, Andre Allen among finalists for FootballScoop assistant coach awards

Quarterbacks coach Craig Stutzmann is up for an award from his peers. / Photo by Andrew Lee, Special to the Star-Advertiser

Assistant coaches Craig Stutzmann (quarterbacks) and Andre Allen (wide receivers) of Hawaii have been named FootballScoop Coach of the Year finalists.

Stutzmann is on a list of six finalists that also includes Steve Ensminger (LSU), Graham Harrell (USC), Jeff Lebby (UCF), Phil Longo (Noth Carolina) and Mike Yurcich (Ohio State).

The other four finalists joining Allen are Joe Brady (LSU), Keary Colbert (USC), Jeff Scott (Clemson) and Holmon Wiggins (Alabama).

Hawaii is 9-5 heading into next week’s SoFi Hawaii Bowl, due in large part to a passing offense that has generated 325.9 yards per game (sixth in FBS).

UH quarterbacks Cole McDonald and Chevan Cordeiro have both gone for over 1,000 yards in total offense for the season, with McDonald among the nation’s leaders in several passing categories.

Cedric Byrd II has caught 95 passes for 1,068 yards and 10 touchdowns, while Jared Smart (80-987-3) and JoJo Ward (58-975-11) have also been impressive statistically.

FootballScoop coach of the year honorees are nominated by their peers, and chosen by the previous year’s winners. Last year’s quarterbacks coach winner was Tommy Rees of Notre Dame. Tyron Carrier of Houston was the 2018 winner for receivers coach.

Wide receivers coach Andre Allen instructed players in October. / Photo by Andrew Lee, Special to the Star-Advertiser


  1. Winning December 17, 2019 11:28 pm

    They better get pumped up BIG TIME ! If so and a win they will have gone to the next level. And lets see more creativity, maybe a little “razzle dazzle” now and then to keep opponents on edge.

  2. Kaiser wilhelm December 18, 2019 1:00 pm

    congrats coaches!

Comments are closed.