WAC Football Preview: Day 1

mack

SALT LAKE CITY — Warrior head coach Greg McMackin delivered a respectful presentation during this morning’s session at the WAC Football Media Preview. 

Referring to notes neatly written in a binder,  McMackin made a brief opening statement in which he praised the expected improvement of all of the WAC teams and briefly touched on the UH depth chart — the top two quarterbacks won’t be named until after the first week of training camp — then took questions from reporters. 

Allotted 30 minutes, McMackin used about two-thirds of the time. 

Much to the relief of UH athletic director Jim Donovan, who attended the session, the presentation was absent the drama of last year’s speech. It was a well-executed no-fumble game plan. 

Still, McMackin’s most endearing quality is his one-of-the-fellas, folksy charm. That was missing during today’s presentation.

* * * * *

Want to keep up with UH slotback Greg Salas.

He has his  own Web site: CatchGregSalas.com

* * * * * 

 

2010 WAC Football Preseason Coaches’ Poll

1. Boise State (8 first-place votes — 64 points 

2. Nevada (1) — 55

3. Fresno State — 50

4. Utah State — 37

5. Hawaii — 36

6. Idaho — 33

7. Louisiana Tech — 26

8. New Mexico State — 14

9. San Jose State — 9

2010 WAC Football Preseason Media Poll

1. Boise State (42) — 386

2. Nevada (1) — 333

3. Fresno State — 300

4. Idaho — 207

5. Louisiana Tech — 200

6. Utah State — 196

7. Hawaii — 166

8. New Mexico State — 81

9. San Jose State — 66

Offensive Player of the Year — Quarterback Kellen Moore, Boise State

Defensive Player of the Year — Defensive end Dontay Moch, Nevada

* * * * * 

Fresno State coach Pat Hill on Utah State quarterback Diondre Borel: “I don’t know how he gets wet in a shower. He’s quick.”

* * * * * 

The quarterbacks were the stars of the media event. Here’s Nevada’s Colin Kaepernick:

kap

* * * * * 

And Boise State’s Kellen Moore:

moore

COMMENTS

  1. Garret July 26, 2010 3:44 am

    The media sure thinks more highly of La Tech than the coaches do.


  2. Garret July 26, 2010 3:46 am

    With Ferd putting UH #3 and Reardon putting UH #5, I guess the media outside of Hawaii really predicted UH to finish low in order for UH to end up #7 in the poll.


  3. Garret July 26, 2010 3:47 am

    I understand how coaches cannot vote for their own teams so Petersen gave Nevada their lone first place vote…but I cannot understand one reporter picking Nevada over BSU on his/her ballot.


  4. mctruck July 26, 2010 4:04 am

    I guess the so called media other than our own don’t know much about UH football as the coaches do either…..boooo-to-dem.


  5. mctruck July 26, 2010 4:06 am

    I guess the defensive player of the year-in advance, Dontay Moch hails from Boise as well???


  6. mctruck July 26, 2010 4:09 am

    Yeah?!, and what’s with LaTech with a new HC rated better than UH???…hmmmmm??


  7. Garret July 26, 2010 4:16 am

    mctruck,

    Moch plays for Nevada and was WAC Defensive Player of the Year last season.


  8. Andy July 26, 2010 5:28 am

    I just cant wait till UH proves these idiots wrong….Hawaii SHOULD be much better than these polls this year…unless we become our own worst enemy again or get key injuries again…GO WARRIORS….I ll be watching every game from Long beach ca..


  9. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 5:28 am

    Good morning Tsaiko Nation,

    All I know rankings are pretty much over rated
    with maybe the possibility of Boise State living
    up to it’s respect and high expectations !

    On ANY given Saturday ANYONE can be beat especially
    in College Athletics in which student athletes play
    for keeps and PRIDE of the game representing their
    University.

    Fresno, Nevada has has solid programs over the years
    and with Utah State being a dark horse the Warriors
    has got their work cut out for them BUT that is why
    we PLAY the game not on paper but between the trenches
    and goal lines !

    It is time to not rest on laurels but to PRACTICE
    EVERY DAY as obvious the so called experts don’t give
    Hawaii to much of a chance this season BUT in reality
    what do experts really know as they don’t strap on
    the gear or tie up the laces only PLAYERS do as one
    thing for sure Warrior players come to PLAY so bring
    it ON and let the chips fall as they may !

    Imua Warriors !


  10. d1島 July 26, 2010 5:30 am

    Great Morning All!

    Prime positioning to pull a few surprises!

    GO WARRIORS!


  11. d1島 July 26, 2010 5:37 am

    Did you set any land speed records going over the Salt Flats?


  12. Stephen Tsai July 26, 2010 6:03 am

    d1:
    Had a wonderful time in Nevada.


  13. d1島 July 26, 2010 6:03 am

    Say, “Hey,” to Dan Robinson.


  14. d1島 July 26, 2010 6:05 am

    Have a terrific day in SLC!

    Erryboddy else have a great day, too!

    HiHo…


  15. Bigislandkurt July 26, 2010 6:08 am

    Until we prove otherwise, the rankings are fair. I’m still trying to stomach Utah state being better than us. They have improved from being one of the WAC door mats, but I don’t think they are better than us.

    Until we prove otherwise…..

    BIK


  16. Bigislandkurt July 26, 2010 6:09 am

    Idaho? Really?

    BIK


  17. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 6:10 am

    Everybody will be so surprised when we win the WAC.


  18. Last Call July 26, 2010 6:23 am

    Sports Polls are marketing gimmicks designed to get your attention.Coaches and the media are wrong for often than not.In the case of Hawai`i it should be used for motivation by the players.


  19. Annoddah Dave July 26, 2010 6:30 am

    ST & Tsaiko Blog Dogs,

    The only way to beat the polls is for us to win on the road!!! No matter what some people may say about traveling, the time zone differences affect you. Having traveled many times to the East for work, even to the West Coast, I was always less than myself until I acclimated at least 2 days later.


  20. Buffoman July 26, 2010 6:41 am

    Is Mack “safe” in those polls? If UH is in 5th place (the better of the two), is his place secured for the next two years. What if the team is 7th?

    Just asking.


  21. Pride. July 26, 2010 6:54 am

    What’s interesting about the two polls is that they are a reflection of the perception that people have of the UH football program. PERCEPTION is not good.


  22. haka July 26, 2010 6:54 am

    Go Warriors!
    Beat USC!
    Beat Army!
    Beat Colorado!
    Beat Charleston Southern!
    Beat Louisiana Tech!
    Beat Fresno State!
    Beat Nevada!
    Beat Utah State!
    Beat Idaho!
    Beat Boise State!
    Beat San Jose State!
    Beat New Mexico State!
    Beat UNLV!
    Go Warriors!


  23. […] the original post:  WAC Football Preview: Day 1 – Hawaii News – Staradvertiser.com By admin | category: University of HAWAII | tags: boise-state, coaches, […]


  24. Pride. July 26, 2010 7:08 am

    Condolences to the Kassebeer family in Waimanalo on the passing of their 11 year old son and nephew Samuel, in a senseless accident on Sunday morning. At 5-7 260 lbs, Samuel was a future Warrior O-lineman in the making. Prayers go out to the family as they try to make sense of this tragic event.


  25. chopsueyboy July 26, 2010 7:19 am

    Missed Top Twenty-Five,

    Good Morning Tsai-kos!


  26. Kekoa (iPhone) July 26, 2010 7:21 am

    Good Monday morning Tsaiko citizens!

    My ranking of the Media is right down there in the city landfill…(‘cept our own Blogmeister of course, he’s #1).

    GO WARRIORS!…Make ’em pay!


  27. Kekoa (iPhone) July 26, 2010 7:28 am

    Pride ~

    Mai poina in the passing of your young nephew, Samuel. Condolences to the Kassebeer ohana.


  28. Da Punchbowl Kid July 26, 2010 7:34 am

    Good Morning Gangeez! 🙂

    Hmmmm…

    …luckily we still play the games anyway!
    I’m with you haka!!!


  29. Da Punchbowl Kid July 26, 2010 7:35 am

    Pride –

    I share Kekoa’s sentiments from post #28.


  30. 808ike July 26, 2010 7:36 am

    Belated B-day to LizK, Princess, & Jodie.


  31. NYUH July 26, 2010 7:42 am

    http://www.dallasnews.com/sharedcontent/dws/spt/colleges/topstories/stories/072610dnspocusabriefs.40e5752.html

    SMU coach June Jones, who led Hawaii to a BCS bowl game in 2007, said at Sunday’s league media day that Conference USA overall features better teams than Hawaii’s WAC and makes it more difficult to go undefeated.


  32. Ipu Man July 26, 2010 7:57 am

    At the end of this season, we will have WAC coach of the year in MAC.
    And will probably lose Rolo and that defensive assistant genius to other bigger schools or NFL.


  33. Maverick July 26, 2010 7:57 am

    Right on Haka!
    Gameface on already.

    Rik’em Rak’um Ruk’um, Get that ball and really fight, fight, fight!.

    Bring on Tommy the Trojan.


  34. Pride. July 26, 2010 7:59 am

    My poll:

    1 – Hawaii
    2 – Boise State
    3 – Fresno State
    4 – La Tech
    5 – Nevada
    6 – Idaho
    7 – Utah State
    8 – San Jose State
    9 – New Mexico State


  35. Pomai July 26, 2010 8:04 am

    No worry folks, when we put the beat down on USC Sept 2, the nation will soon get the message. It will be nice to see another 13-0 season.


  36. Pomai July 26, 2010 8:05 am

    Can’t beat the Pride Poll


  37. Da Punchbowl Kid July 26, 2010 8:08 am

    Pomai –

    Ditto!


  38. Slugger July 26, 2010 8:08 am

    Good morning!

    Pride.,

    So sorry to hear that your nephew Samuel was the young boy who was killed in the accident in Waimanalo. My condolences to the Kassebeer ‘ohana.


  39. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 8:12 am

    idaho and utah state? really?


  40. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Petals & Beans, Hawaii Warriors Buzz. Hawaii Warriors Buzz said: The Warrior Beat >> WAC Football Preview: Day 1 http://buzztap.com/-mYvfHU […]


  41. Pride. July 26, 2010 8:13 am

    Kekoa (iPhone):

    July 26th, 2010 at 7:28 am
    Pride ~

    Mai poina in the passing of your young nephew, Samuel. Condolences to the Kassebeer ohana.

    Kekoa, not my nephew. His a family is very close to my oldest daughter’s boyfriend. I met the boy only once, about two years ago. He definitely had offensive line written all over him. I don’t really know the family that well, but my heart does go out to them.


  42. NYUH July 26, 2010 8:15 am

    IMHO

    1. Boise State

    2. Hawaii

    3. Fresno State

    4. Nevada

    5. Utah State

    6. Idaho

    7. Louisiana Tech

    8. San Jose State

    9. New Mexico State


  43. Kazz July 26, 2010 8:15 am

    I’ve always wondered about Nevada over the past few years. Last season, they managed to beat us at Nevada, but it wasn’t the offensive onslaught many assumed. Considering our handicap defensively last year, we managed a good fight.

    This year Nevada comes down to sea level and again will see failure at Aloha Stadium.


  44. Mazie Delguercio July 26, 2010 8:17 am

    I have been looking for these, and now find, thank you.


  45. NYUH July 26, 2010 8:18 am

    http://fifthdown.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/07/22/washington-redskins-2010-season-preview/

    Donovan McNabb is a reliable Pro Bowl veteran, yet you never know what you’re going to get from the guy. (By the way, this sounds a lot like how one might describe a “poor man’s Brett Favre”.) McNabb has a rifle for an arm, but on any given play, that rifle can inexplicably fire at a receiver’s feet or three yards behind him. McNabb’s erratic accuracy can make it difficult to sustain rhythm offensively. That said, the problem is by no means severe enough to hinder offensive coordinator Kyle Shanahan’s play-calling. The only time Shanahan will be reluctant to attack is if Rex Grossman or Colt Brennan has to fill in at any point.


  46. Pride. July 26, 2010 8:19 am

    Boise State is going to have a very good season. They return a whole bunch of starters and do have quite a bit of talent. I believe that they will finish with a very good 10-2 record. Only losses will be to Va. Tech and Hawaii.


  47. Kazz July 26, 2010 8:19 am

    Is now the time for all WAC coaches (aside from BSU staff) to be sharing information on ensuring BSU as many conference losses as possible?


  48. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 8:23 am

    Pride.
    #47 agreed.


  49. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 8:26 am

    kazz,
    #44, they looked pretty sad the last time they were here for their bowl game. kapernickerbockers is just an average passer once you take away his running. and if that guy taua doesn’t come back from his off the field issues, their pistol might not be fully loaded this year.


  50. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 8:32 am

    for once, i kinda agree with FL’s poll in his article today
    http://www.staradvertiser.com/sports/20100726_race_for_second_in_wac_more_important_than_usual.html
    FERD’S WAC POLL
    1. Boise State
    2. Fresno State
    3. Hawaii
    4. Nevada
    5. Utah State
    6. Louisiana Tech
    7. Idaho
    8. San Jose State

    9. New Mexico State


  51. Manoa Mist July 26, 2010 8:32 am

    Oh man, and so it has come to this. UH rated lower than Utah State in one poll and Utah State and Idaho in another football poll. For a team with a $1.1 million head coach, this is not acceptable. I hope, for all of us, Mack proves them wrong.


  52. Matt July 26, 2010 8:52 am

    Coach Mack talking to media at the WAC Football Preview

    http://www.wacsports.com/fls/10100/media/video/football/2010/mcmackin.wmv?DB_OEM_ID=10100

    Pretty good questions from the media. Coach did alright. You can tell he is excited by the dedication from the players in the off season.


  53. Stephen Tsai July 26, 2010 8:59 am

    Were you the “Matt” who asked the reader’s question?


  54. koakane™ July 26, 2010 9:00 am

    good rainy morn tsaiko’s and tsaikette’s. no worry we need the rain and its a blessing from the heavens. you’all have a good first work day, play nice and be good to your work mates.

    eh polls are what they are fodder for discussion. fball season is just around the corner so let see how the season play out. gotta be excited by eh.

    What’s interesting about the two polls is that they are a reflection of the perception that people have of the UH football program. PERCEPTION is not good.

    pomai yep that what it is perception


  55. koakane™ July 26, 2010 9:03 am

    atta go haka you definite go the beat down. bwhaaaaaaaa lol


  56. Matt July 26, 2010 9:03 am

    Stephen,

    No, I’m not that “Matt”. I live on the mainland. The Matt that asked the question is apparently from Honolulu.


  57. NYUH July 26, 2010 9:03 am

    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/423126-recruiting-hangovers-the-top-10-teams-that-will-suffer-from-bad-qb-play#page/8

    The Buffaloes went with two quarterbacks in 2009, starting the year with Cody Hawkins and ending it with Tyler Hansen. Unfortunately, neither was very good and both return as the top two passers on the roster in 2010.

    Unless the coaching staff feels that 2009 3-star quarterback Clark Evans will give them a better chance to win, don’t expect the situation to get any better next season.

    Considering that Hansen and Hawkins combined for as may interceptions, 18, as they did touchdowns, the quarterback position should be a major weakness


  58. Shoko July 26, 2010 9:10 am

    Why doesn LA Tech get so much love in the Media poll?


  59. haroldwah July 26, 2010 9:10 am

    NYUH
    #46-So I guess Colt is the 3rd string QB?


  60. Shoko July 26, 2010 9:13 am

    ST,
    Aren’t you at the WAC preview in SLC?


  61. Garret July 26, 2010 9:21 am

    haroldwah,

    Yes, Colt is the 3rd string QB in Washington.


  62. Garret July 26, 2010 9:25 am

    If Time Warner and Disney do not come to an agreement, Time Warner cable TV customers (which includes all Oceanic customers in Hawaii) will not have ABC, ESPN, and other channels on September 1. If they don’t settle by September 2, all cable viewers in Hawaii won’t get to see the UH-USC game!

    They might settle in time for Time Warner customers to avoid missing the games on the weekend, but this is one potential downside for the UH-USC game being early.


  63. haroldwah July 26, 2010 9:26 am

    #63-Garret-Get chance. McNabb is not know for his durability. I gotta believe that Colt is better than Rex. Colt just needs a chance to show what he can do. I don’t wish anything ill for Donavan but its Colts time to shine!


  64. Pomai July 26, 2010 9:32 am

    #21 & #55 Yep perception is not a good thing, but this is one of the failings of being human, we sometimes base our opinion or make decisions on perception. It’s not the best way to do things but we all do it, I know I have in the past and more than likely will again(hope not). The answer is to look past the perception to see how it really is.


  65. RedZone July 26, 2010 9:43 am

    I will see UH vs USC. I will be at the stadium.


  66. (Jesse) James July 26, 2010 9:45 am

    Good Morning Tsaikos…hope all have a good day….


  67. (Jesse) James July 26, 2010 9:46 am

    Rankings and polls mean nothing to me….just go out there, and do it on the field….leave no doubt….that’s the only place that counts in my opinion.


  68. A-House July 26, 2010 9:57 am

    Pride:

    your #25 – interestingly when we saw the news on KITV at 5pm last night, I turned to Mrs A-House and said, “he was a future UH lineman”. Our condolences to this entire family.

    koakane:

    I sure hope it’s raining only at your place cause i need another dry day for the cement to harden!


  69. EH NO MAKE! July 26, 2010 10:04 am

    Pride:

    Very well said!
    Regarding the young boy in Waimanalo. Absolutely senseless!


  70. Matt July 26, 2010 10:11 am

    WAC Commish Benson names none other than Stephen Tsai the “Dean” of WAC Media. Wow ST, can we all get an autograph? 😀

    http://www.wacsports.com/fls/10100/media/video/football/2010/benson1.wmv?DB_OEM_ID=10100

    The second part of Benson’s remarks

    http://www.wacsports.com/fls/10100/media/video/football/2010/benson2.wmv?DB_OEM_ID=10100


  71. Stephen Tsai July 26, 2010 10:19 am

    And, yet, they didn’t have a name tag for me. LOL.


  72. bb July 26, 2010 10:21 am

    The “Dean” of WAC media? I’m calling BS.

    Sort of like Tiger calling the media “his friends” as a preface so they would lay off his personal issues


  73. Stretch July 26, 2010 10:45 am

    Maybe he is calling ST the “Dean” to kiss his okole so we will start talking nice about Benson… NOPE!!!


  74. Shoko July 26, 2010 10:50 am

    Beginning with the 2011 Rose Bowl though the 2014 Rose Bowl, the qualifying system for the Rose Bowl will change. The Big Ten and Pac-10 champions are still contractually obligated to play in the game and will unless one of those two teams is to play in the BCS National Championship Game. The first time this happens, should it happen, the other automatic bid must go to one of the champions of the non-BCS conferences, provided that one of those team is able to meet the criteria the BCS has set for these schools. Should one of those teams fail to qualify for the BCS either the Big East champion, a BCS conference at-large team, or Notre Dame would take the bid.

    I know this is a bit too early to contemplate, but I wonder what are the chances of Boise State being invited to the Rose Bowl this year, granted BSU is eligible and either a PAC-10 or Big Ten champ goes to the NC. There has been speculation that BSU could get an invitation to the Sugar Bowl if they go undeafeated. Rose Bowl, I would think is also a possibility.


  75. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 11:13 am

    ST,
    did you try look for one that said Jack?


  76. LizKauai m/ July 26, 2010 11:26 am

    Hiya!

    #9, #47 – Ditto!

    All Hail the (tagless) Dean!

    Thoughts and prayers for those who have passed and those who are in need of His help.

    UH under the radar again? Fine with me. Let deeds, not words be your adorning!

    HiHo!


  77. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 12:02 pm

    cool pics, ST!


  78. NorthShoreFan July 26, 2010 12:07 pm

    Howzit Errybody…

    Completed a looonngg weekend of bon dance festivites at my church. Three days of 18 hour shift has taken it toll on da old man…need to recurperate da body now.

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO LizKauai…me and my patnah wish you many, many more!

    Rant for the week…
    How terrribly sad for the family of the 11 year old who lost his life because of a couple of immature boys, (can’t say they are adults) out for thrills. I don’t want to hear that it’s because we don’t have a venue for thrill seekers. Even if we did, drinking and driving like this?
    Who supplied the alcohol to these boys? The investigation needs to go deeper and further than just who was the drivers. Who the suppliers? Do they feel any responsibility?
    After they apprehend these drivers, have them serve on the response team whenever there is a drunk driver accident for the next 5 years so they can see the kind of destruction that occurs.
    I luv da brewski too but will not partake if I need to drive. My fridge only has three bottles for cooking, (skunky brews by now) and I do not serve guest anymore. Just soda, juice and H2O.
    Keep it SAFE TSAI-KO’S! I hope to hear and see you guys for a long time!


  79. mctruck July 26, 2010 12:12 pm

    Chawan cut, ur #77……funny…errr, sorry Jack, I mean…ST., and congrats to the DEAN.


  80. bb July 26, 2010 12:23 pm

    Greg Salas’ website is cool.

    who comes up with this stuff?


  81. A-House July 26, 2010 12:26 pm

    Da Dean of WAC media, eh!

    eh Stretch, if Benson is doing dat, he ain’t goin to get any support from dis one! Hell NO!!!

    Now, should he become an effective commish with great vision and fairness to all schools in scheduling and TV appearances, den, and that’s a big den, I may consider altering my tune. Notice, I said “may consider”.


  82. A-House July 26, 2010 12:30 pm

    For all the great minds on this blog, say a student athlete flunks out of school and has not yet used a “red shirt” year, can he/she use this period as the “red shirt” year? or, red shirt only applies to a student athlete who remains is school.

    speaking of this type of NCAA rule, did Slugger apply for and get selected for the “compliance position”? jus axing, cause, IMHO, she would make an excellent one!!!!!


  83. Shoko July 26, 2010 12:48 pm

    From my understanding and using the case of Masoli as an example, since he never used a redshirt year when he went to Oregon, he would then be eligible to redshirt if he enrolls at a different school. However, because he did complete his degree at Oregon and can now enroll at a different school, granted that degree program is not offered at Oregon, he would be eligible to play immediately.


  84. Garret July 26, 2010 12:49 pm

    UH is showing interest in 2011 recruit Justin Satele. UH being interesting in a recruit named Satele who plays center is not a surprise. What does surprise me is that BSU and SJSU have offered him a scholarship but UH has not.

    Maybe UH has other needs that are more pressing, as Mack has explained in the past. However, it would really seem strange to me if a Satele was starting at BSU in a few years and UH didn’t offer him a scholarship.


  85. Garret July 26, 2010 12:52 pm

    A-House,

    That player’s eligibility clock would keep running during the year he was not playing and was focusing on school. If the player hadn’t used a redshirt year, then that year could count towards his redshirt year. Players have 5 years to play 4 seasons and the clock keeps ticking no matter if the player sits out for academics or other reasons.


  86. Garret July 26, 2010 12:54 pm

    By the way, thank you to sportsbow for passing along the news about Justin Satele.


  87. Garret July 26, 2010 12:58 pm

    Deseret News article about Malosi Te’o transferring to UH. The Utah paper mainly just cites the Star-Advertiser article.


  88. al July 26, 2010 12:58 pm

    yup. when i read about that accident which took that young boy’s life it made me sick to my stomach.

    that particular stretch of road in waimanalo should be lined with many speed deterring bumps as they do in certain parts of wailuku/waiehu. it has happened all too often in that area.

    …nuff said.


  89. Derek July 26, 2010 1:04 pm

    Polls mean nothing. You gotta play it on the field. Some people think Utah St. will be better. But, remember, their leading rusher Robert Turpin got hurt in the spring game and may be out for the season. He might have been their best player. And, injuries can change things in a heart beat. What if Kellen Moore gets hurt in their very first game against Virginia Tech. Then what? In football, you never know what’s going to happen. The back ups have to step up and do the job, period.

    Question? If USC beat UH in the first game would UH’s percetion from the coaches and media be different than now? You better believe it. They would rate Hawaii 2nd or maybe even first by some people, depending on the score. If Virgiani Tech beats Boise St. in the first game (a real possibility) then Boise St.’s dream for an undefeated season and possible national championship implications are out the door with a full season to play. That could be demoralizing for them and they might not be focused in some games when their motivation is not high. A funny thing when the football bounces. I agree Boise St. is the odds on favorite going in. But, we will have to see as the season progresses. It’s a long season and each football team is different. Some get better, some get worse. Some turn the ball over too much. Some create a lot of turnovers. The ole thing called “momentum”
    and the luck of the bounces can change things drastically. Like a lot of people in Hawaii, we are hopeful that we have a great season and we are looking forward to Sept. 2 on national television, in High Definition if not at the game. If we win, all Hawaii will be so excited and jacked up. More people will get on the band wagon. And the next week at Army will be important, because it’s a road game and a long way to West Point. The team cannot have a let down. If they do, we’ll lose. Win that and the next week at Colorado and we’ve got a Top 25 team right here. Lose the USC game and people will say, well, we were supposed to lose to a big time name team so that is expected. So, we wait as the days tick off as fall camp starts and what players emerge to play important roles to help us win. Efficiency, character, leadership, being smart, and being opportunistic should be preached. We have be better at stopping the run and we have to be more efficient in the red zone. If we can do that pretty good, I believe we will be a much better football team than last year for sure.


  90. BigIslandkurt July 26, 2010 1:04 pm

    Boise State will need to get by VAtech first before they can start thinking of another BCS payday. First game of the season will spell it all out.

    BIK


  91. Derek July 26, 2010 1:06 pm

    Sorry. I meant if UH beats USC in the very first game.


  92. roysan16 July 26, 2010 1:10 pm

    Re-Coach Mack’s media appearance

    http://www.wacsports.com/fls/10100/media/video/football/2010/mcmackin.wmv?DB_OEM_ID=10100

    Coach Mack did well today.

    He navigated through his appearance without hitting rock bottom. His appearance was smooth. He went from the dock, into the channel and out into the ocean without any frolicking.

    It was textbook. All business, with his eyes scanning prepared notes this time around.

    Appearance wise, he looked good. He looked refreshed. And he looked like he’s been practicing on his speaking.

    Personally, I think the coach was bracing himself from being confronted with the “question.” But there was none of that, partly because I think the media was tipped off from reading ST article in yesterday’s paper. That article IMO may have insulated the coach from having the wound open up, which is good that it didn’t. It was, in retrospect, good that ST covered the bases with the coach.

    Most of the questions and answers in the coaches thirteen minute appearance was standard fare. Nothing of note, except that the coach is optimistic for the upcoming season. And that he noted in all of the years that he has been here he hasn’t seen a harder working group of players that he currently has.

    This is a much better way to kickoff a season. Your coach adds air into the balloon. It’s uplifting for the players and the fans, reconsidering last year. I watched the coach exiting the podium on the video, and he looked like the gymnasts that hit a perfect 10. He was happy.We’re happy for him, too.

    (P.S (I’m not 100% sure, don’t have time to recheck) in the 12:20 mark should the coach meant to have said West instead of East in reference of how his coaches are recruiting down in Samoa and Australia?)


  93. Slugger July 26, 2010 1:12 pm

    Pride.,

    Thanks for correcting the info about Samuel Kassebeer. Still a very sad situation. It made me MADD when I read about it. I agree with NSF; there’s no excuse for that kind of behavior. I hear cars racing up King St. sometimes after 1 a.m. and I worry about the innocent drivers on the road.


  94. Shoko July 26, 2010 1:32 pm

    Royson,
    Perhaps Macks takes the long route. He heads east to get to American Samoa or New Zealand. You know, take the scenic route. 😆


  95. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 1:36 pm

    got my UH schedule of opponent’s schedules up if anyone wants to peruse over to SH.
    http://www.sportshawaii.com/sh/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=36500


  96. Shoko July 26, 2010 1:38 pm

    Regarding Timmy Change article in the SA. Is it fair to say that the reason for dropping the theft charges was because they couldn’t prover Timmy actually took the phone away from the victim and tossed it on the roof? Also, it was mentioned that Timmy has to attend anger management course. Never knew Timmy had anger issues.


  97. A-House July 26, 2010 1:38 pm

    roysan16:

    Maybe Coach Mack said “east” because countries are on the other side of the international date line?

    I remember returning from American Samoa of an Inspector General’s trip, went into the Army Reserve Center, met a “civilain employee” who tells me, “why is not my crew working today? I tell him that we already did our work for today in Samoa” (gain a day flying esatward to Hawaii).


  98. A-House July 26, 2010 1:40 pm

    esatward, of course, should be “eastward”


  99. al July 26, 2010 1:41 pm

    100


  100. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 1:46 pm

    i used the wrong verb there. i meant to say … head over to SH and peruse it….


  101. A-House July 26, 2010 1:47 pm

    Shoko:

    #98 – I remember a particular police officer who really, really wanted to put us away.

    One night, someone asked for my friend’s car keys so it was passed from him to me to others and the driver total the car that night in the cane field. Well, I was brought up on charges of “contributing to the negligence of a minor”. That was funny cause I was only 17 years old. Had to go to court and the judge threw my case out telling the cop that he was way out of line. That pissed him off even more!!!!!!!


  102. Shoko July 26, 2010 1:55 pm

    A-House,
    I like that explanation you gave in reference to Roysan’s post. When I flew to multiple countries on a mission and crossed various time zones, we always went my GMT time. Sort of kept our crew in synch with our alert times. Yet, I was always confounded with what day it was.

    That cop sounded like a rookie! 😉


  103. Garret July 26, 2010 1:56 pm

    Funny quote from Idaho’s head coach about BSU leaving for the MWC.

    On Boise State leaving: “I think they’re just trying to get away from us. They saw the Vandals getting better. ‘We better go to the Mountain West before they get too good.’ “


  104. Garret July 26, 2010 1:57 pm

    It sounds like BSU might not play Idaho or UH after this year.

    Other notes from Petersen’s appearance Monday at the WAC media preview:

    — On playing Idaho in Moscow in the future: “Why would we? I don’t think our fans like to even go up there.”

    — On playing at Hawaii in the future: “That’s a hard trip. There are certain trips that we take that on paper look great but are extremely tough on our guys.”


  105. Garret July 26, 2010 2:01 pm

    Other notes from the Idaho Statesman:

    Karl Benson said that the WAC’s TV deal will be reduced after BSU leaves.

    Jack Nixon, the “Voice of the Aggies” in Las Cruces, said that he was the media member that picked Nevada instead of BSU.


  106. kama krab July 26, 2010 2:06 pm

    Garret #106,

    BSU might not have a choice if Hawaii is invited into the MWC. Aw shucks


  107. kama krab July 26, 2010 2:07 pm

    Oh and Howzit Everybody


  108. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 2:10 pm

    Garret,
    Re: 106
    — On playing at Hawaii in the future: “That’s a hard trip. There are certain trips that we take that on paper look great but are extremely tough on our guys.”

    oh, so now they acknowledge trips to and from Hawai’i are not easy? we do it a minimum 5-6 times a year!


  109. RedZone July 26, 2010 2:12 pm

    bb last year when I thanked JD for the new look website he mentioned that Troy Yamamoto was the webmaster and that he also had help from Derek Inouchi and his staff.


  110. Garret July 26, 2010 2:12 pm

    kama krab,

    BSU doesn’t have a problem playing conference games, but they are limited with their nonconference slots. They have started taking $1 million paydays to play road games at AQ conference team’s stadiums (which gets them on ESPN) and have been scheduling as many Pac-10 teams as they can get to home-and-home deals.

    If UH gets into the MWC, the MWC will probably have enough teams and split into East/West divisions…so, UH might not play BSU every year even then. UH could be in a division with UNLV, SDSU, Nevada, Fresno, etc…*if* UH wins enough football games to force an invitation.


  111. Garret July 26, 2010 2:14 pm

    oh, so now they acknowledge trips to and from Hawai’i are not easy? we do it a minimum 5-6 times a year!

    chawan_cut,

    BSU and several other schools have acknowledged FOR YEARS that trips to and from Hawaii are not easy. They have cited the travel time (especially the loss of class time for athletes), cost, and having their players get tired out by the time zone difference.

    The thing is, BSU can choose to make that trip or not…UH has no choice.


  112. RedZone July 26, 2010 2:16 pm

    peterson is going to enjoy his trips to Wyoming.


  113. Shoko July 26, 2010 2:18 pm

    That VA Tech game is played at a neutral location, right? I think, aside from the million payday, that was also a stipulation to play VA Tech. If not mistaken…


  114. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 2:19 pm

    i wonder what the MWC teams will think about having to add Boise into their travel plans. and what boise will do now that they’re no longer top dog making all the calls in the conference. and if they start complaining, if MWC will listen. boise hasn’t stopped complaining since they were in the big west.


  115. Garret July 26, 2010 2:21 pm

    I think that the travel burden is harder on teams that play 2 games per week like men’s and women’s basketball. Playing a Thursday and Sunday game must be rough when they have to go to somewhere like Fresno and then to Hawaii or vice versa, especially for a team coming from Ruston or Logan.


  116. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 2:21 pm

    that should’ve said “are thinking” instead of “will think”


  117. Shoko July 26, 2010 2:22 pm

    Dang, my comment was for Garret. Feel free to reply, sir.


  118. Garret July 26, 2010 2:22 pm

    Shoko,

    That “neutral” site game is at the Redskins’ stadium…easy driving distance from Virginia Tech.

    Next year BSU opens at Mississippi’s home stadium.


  119. kama krab July 26, 2010 2:24 pm

    Garret,

    I think that if can become possible with a watered down WAC. The only thing I am worried about is getting the wins out-of-conference to make the UH respectable. Beating Nevada and Fresno is not as hard as it is made out to be. The boyz just have to be focused and want it that much more. Besides those two teams I see no other team that would be able to give Hawaii a fight year in and year out. LaTech will have there teams and so will the likes of Utah State and Idaho but year in and year out I do not see them being regular contenders. Thus in my opinion the only teams that are standing in our way as of right now are Nevada and Fresno.


  120. Garret July 26, 2010 2:25 pm

    chawan_cut,

    I think that all of the MWC schools are focused on trying to get AQ status and they don’t care about traveling to Boise. If UH had the same record as Boise, I believe that they would have begged UH to join them *without asking for a travel subsidy* even if they hate the travel costs to go to Hawaii. Their whole conference seems focused on getting AQ status…while many WAC teams are just trying to stay afloat (NMSUs cutting $3 million from their already small Athletic budget, etc.).


  121. A-House July 26, 2010 2:30 pm

    Garret:

    your #113 – how many “school days” will BSU students lose by flying east to play V Tech and next year to Mississippi? Same as traveling to Hawaii? If so, what’s the beef or crying?

    Getting to University of Mississippi from Boise will be time consuming including making several transfers and down time at airports. And, as Redzone says, getting to Wyoming will NOT be easy! OR, will BSU “charter” all the way? Hey, that would impress MWC members or create hard feelings that the new kid on the block is “flaunting” it.

    Me thinks that it would be worse than travel to Hawaii.


  122. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 2:30 pm

    #98 Shoko: Timmy Change or Timmy Chang the former local boy run n shoot quaterback for JJ ?

    Article to read on theft charges and anger managment ?

    Can you repost or direct to this SURPRISE news as I can’t find it ?

    Thank you !


  123. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 2:31 pm

    i meant more of having to play on that ugly field.


  124. Garret July 26, 2010 2:32 pm

    kama krab,

    *Somebody* is going to win the WAC next year and I don’t see why UH can’t do it. UH will have a lot of returning players next year and Nevada will finally lose Kaerpernick. If UH can win the WAC, the nonconference schedule will determine if UH is nationally ranked or in the middle of the computer rankings.

    This is the nonconference schedule for 2011:
    09/03 Colorado
    09/10 @ Washington
    09/17 @ UNLV
    09/24 UC Davis
    12/03 Oregon State

    UC-Davis is a win. UH should win at UNLV (I’m looking forward to being at that game!). That leaves Colorado and Oregon State at home and Washington on the road. That is a *much* harder schedule than this year (Army hasn’t had a winning record for years), but UH is tough at home. The road games in Seattle and Vegas will also have a *lot* of UH fans there.


  125. Garret July 26, 2010 2:34 pm

    A-House,

    BSU already charters flights to their road games, including their games in Hawaii.


  126. Garret July 26, 2010 2:35 pm

    chawan_cut,

    I agree that the blue field is ugly and will bet that MWC teams won’t want to play on it.


  127. Shoko July 26, 2010 2:37 pm

    Well, I think that the playing field has leveled and that there will be few WAC teams that will have undefeated records. One loss WAC champs seems likely. No one will dominate as Boise State has done since joining the conference.


  128. chawan_cut July 26, 2010 2:37 pm

    every time i look at it, it reminds me of my 2000 flushes toilet bowl.


  129. Shoko July 26, 2010 2:39 pm

    Garret,
    Aren’t those charter flights with the Boise State themed Alaska airlines planes? Wish HA would decide on promoting a Warriors themed plane in the future. That would be great!


  130. the Success Ladder July 26, 2010 3:06 pm

    Wonderful site and theme, would really like to see a bit more content though!
    Great post all around, added your XML feed! Love this theme, too!


  131. Stephen Tsai July 26, 2010 3:11 pm

    The reports of Masoli interested in Mississippi appear to be true.
    I asked a Louisiana Tech official if Masoli was going to Ruston; he shook his head and said, no.


  132. Shoko July 26, 2010 3:15 pm

    So, the Masoli rumour regarding UNLV is not true?


  133. badayu July 26, 2010 3:17 pm

    the 2010 squad is the first since the 80’s to take strength and conditioning seriously. all due to tommy taking over for laid back mel. uh should be more competitive during the second half of their ball games, and may even be able to come from behind to win a game. but more importantly, what happened at unlv will not happen this year. conditioning and depth are keys to a winning season. too bad uh doesn’t have a qb.


  134. Da Punchbowl Kid July 26, 2010 3:20 pm

    Hmmm…

    http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/blog/shutdown_corner/post/Titans-sue-Lane-Kiffin-for-coach-poaching?urn=nfl-258284

    Troubles for the Trojans.


  135. MichiganWarrior July 26, 2010 3:26 pm

    Can you say, “underdog”??? We often do amazing things when in this role. Thank you, WAC coaches and media, for giving us more fire!

    Special gratz to ST on being recognized as the Dean of WAC media!

    And, was it Garret that shared the info on Kaepernick’s performances relative to how tough the opposing team(s) is/are? Those are some of the tapes we need to study to shut him down!


  136. Kazz July 26, 2010 3:30 pm

    DUFFER,

    GOT YOUR E-MAIL AND SENT YOU A REPLY.


  137. Shoko July 26, 2010 3:32 pm

    What makes the Pistol so effective is the QB (Kaepernick) and RB (Taua, Ball or Lampford) and its ability to misdirect. Isolate those two positions and you shut down the Pistol like ND did last year. Anyway, folks, hope everyone has a good night.


  138. Hai Ildefonso July 26, 2010 3:42 pm

    My good friend and I had been just discussing this issue, she actually is constantly wanting to prove me completely wrong! I am going to show her this write-up and rub it in a little!


  139. MichiganWarrior July 26, 2010 3:48 pm

    Note to A-House…

    This shaka is for you! m/ ^_^ m/

    You da man!!!

    Mahalo, bruddah!


  140. RedZone July 26, 2010 3:56 pm

    Eli Manning donated one million to Ole Miss.


  141. Shoko July 26, 2010 4:03 pm

    Oh, sorry Cliff. I didn’t see your post. Thanks to Ralph for replying to your request. And I stand corrected on my mispelling of ‘Chang’, but change is a good thing, right? 😉


  142. Garret July 26, 2010 4:15 pm

    Cliff,

    Here is another article about Chang’s plea bargain deal. Chang asked a woman to stop filming a fight that was going on. She refused and Chang grabbed the video camera and threw it on the roof. Throwing it on the roof resulted in the theft charge.


  143. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 4:16 pm

    Ralph, thank you for the post as I hope Mr. Chang will become a much wiser man to his choices and decesions.

    I would also hope a PROLIFIC quaterback with the reputation he carries will not jeopardize public scrutiny to his athletic accomplishments as especially living in Hawaii !

    Why isn’t he being use by the football program in SOME capacity as being involve with his former glory days as oppose to mediating a negative environment will go a lot further to positive production then having to face the law in court ?


  144. al July 26, 2010 4:17 pm

    didn’t eli and peyton attend summer school at manoa?
    wouldn’t that be worth $25k?


  145. Garret July 26, 2010 4:19 pm

    Linebackers for the BC Lions seem to be cursed with ankle injuries. Sol became a starter at MLB because Anton McKenzie had an ankle injury. Sol now has an ankle injury and is expected to miss their next game, so McKenzie will get his starting job back.

    Another LB, Mike Johnson, has an ankle injury and is doubtful for their next game. If he can’t play then Adam Leonard will make the active roster for the first time! If Sol hadn’t been injured they would have had a chance to be on the field again–BC only has 2 LBs on D, so the entire LB group could be from UH sometime.


  146. Old School Dave July 26, 2010 4:21 pm

    “Hawaiian Airlines: The Official Airline of University of Hawaii Athletics”…..

    Has a nice ring to it, doesn’t it?


  147. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 4:24 pm

    Shoku, thank you for your explanation BUT am I to understand that Timmy Chang who is an NCAA record former UH quaterback is hanging around fighting as why would he be in that situation and then to take some ones property with anger and destroy it ?

    I don’t get it from a student athlete graduate !


  148. Garret July 26, 2010 4:25 pm

    Mississippi seems like the perfect situation for Masoli. Old Miss’ QB skipped his senior year to enter the NFL draft after last season. Their backup QB quit their team after the other QB was named the starter.

    The sophomore who is their #1 QB now has only taken 23 snaps at Mississippi. Their only other scholarship QB is a JC transfer who hasn’t played at the D-IA level. Considering how QBs rarely make it through the SEC schedule without missing time due to injury, Mississippi needs Masoli and he could earn playing time. Masoli started for the Pac-10 champs last season and all of the QBs that Mississippi has have taken a total of 23 snaps (one quarter or so of playing time) at the D-IA level.


  149. Ralph July 26, 2010 4:25 pm

    USA playing Japan for the KFC Softball World Cup, USA up 4-1 bottom 4th. Futures obviously lost to the national team this morning finishing 2-4. Futures beat Japan 2-1 yesterday and Iwata did not play.


  150. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 4:28 pm

    Garret, could it be that Timmy Chang is a figmant of what he once was or what he should be as I can’t understand why is he not in some athletic position playing or coaching as I do believe he threw to Chad Owens and Mighty Mouse is in the CFL ?

    Clarification will be GREATLY appreciated !


  151. Shoko July 26, 2010 4:32 pm

    Cliff,
    You make a good point, as always. I don’t know the specifics of the circumstances surrounding the incident, but all I can say – in an attempt to rationalize Timmy’s behavior – is that we are human and excercise bad judgement in the most precarious of positions. Emotions and logic often don’t go hand in hand, unfortunately, but what we do and learn from those experiences is what leads to redemption. Geez, talk about trying to sound prophetic…lol.


  152. Old School Dave July 26, 2010 4:33 pm

    Agree no one seems to realize that UH travels 5-6 times a season to play on the continent. You don’t hear any complaining here. Just part of the reality of being from Hawaii. When Hawaii starts winning regularly and dominating, more teams will start whining about how hard it is to travel to the islands and the time student-athletes are away from class. Gimme a break!


  153. bb July 26, 2010 4:35 pm

    timmy chang threw a phone w/video and the big city diner roof intercepted it.


  154. Shoko July 26, 2010 4:40 pm

    Considering how QBs rarely make it through the SEC schedule without missing time due to injury, Mississippi needs Masoli and he could earn playing time.

    I know what you’re saying, but that sounded as if Ole Miss should take Masoli and throw him under the bus. 😆


  155. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 4:46 pm

    Can any of you fine posters give me the months of Hawaii off season as my Tennis Association in Carson wants to come up in a group and be part of your WONDERFUL Aloha spirit and live to breathe paradise ?

    The excitement took off when one member came back last week with his wife and had a GREAT time as I told him ALL the spots as he came back “IN LOVE” with the ohana !

    A reccomended traveling service would be nice as Panda from the athletics department brought me back for the Kane Fernendez Community Service Award back in 2006 or should we all try local flight specials here in Los Angeles ?

    Mahalo !


  156. Ipu Man July 26, 2010 4:47 pm

    zero fumbles needed. Zero.
    Paint a red spot on the football and call it a kamikaze.
    Keep it in the mind of the players.
    NO FUMBLES.


  157. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 4:56 pm

    Shoko, a WISE explanation with PROPHETIC sound bites !

    I just hope Mr. Chang LEARNS from this and use his GIFTED abilities
    as a stand out football player for Hawaii and become a role model
    to help others as I really enjoyed watching him play !

    Didn’t he have a subway franchise on some part of the Island
    as I once recalled he was owner / manager to the establishment ?


  158. madeinhawaii July 26, 2010 5:01 pm

    Garret…. Think the BC Lions are using previous version Under Armor shoes?


  159. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 5:02 pm

    #156 BB: Funny and hilarious as I will be looking for that diner in hopes to get me a FREE video phone IF it didn’t have the zip that Timmy was known for his arm strength and accuracy !

    Love your humor !


  160. RainbowCliff July 26, 2010 5:16 pm

    Well good night folks as I am into my 5th week of Day Camp at Wooten Center with FOUR more weeks to GO !

    That 7 am reminds me each morning of early morning work out as instead of my basketball hands dribbling off the hardwood I got swarms of itchy young fingers diving into my ball cage for there FAVORITE ball as no matter how years go by there is NEW life to the GAME !

    IMUA WARRIORS !


  161. jm2375 (Backflip) July 26, 2010 5:28 pm

    Howzit Tsaikos from the Nation’s Capitol.

    Yesterday, after fighting traffic and taking 6.5 hrs to drive 250 miles, we arrived at our hotel, which had no power! A severe t-storm had rolled thru the area, knocking down trees and power lines. Most of Montgomery County, just outside of DC, was w/o power. We ended up spending the night at a friend’s house. Estimates are that over 180k people are still without power and won’t be fully restored till Thursday! We are now in the hotel thankfully.

    So, ST, should I call Jack or Dean?

    Redskins training camp starts Thurs. One hazing ritual involves duct taping a rookie to the goalpost. 😆


  162. SteveM July 26, 2010 5:31 pm

    Good afternoon everyone!

    Back home and catching up with the blog.

    The cold Alaska air seems to have shrunk all my 100% cotton pants… 🙁
    …they fit fine before I boarded the cruise ship in Seattle.


  163. Slugger July 26, 2010 5:54 pm

    Off topic, well, off UH football: Local boys at NAU ~

    (Kainoa) Pe’a, Sam Unger and Mana Purdy all hail from Hawaii. Tooolefua Samuelu comes all the way from Western Samoa. Despite the differences between Arizona and their homelands, all of these players contribute to the success and diversity of the program. Pe’a, who was hurt all of last year, is expected to be a force on the defensive line. Samuelu had a great spring and is expected to compete for a linebacker spot in the fall. Unger and Purdy are both freshmen, but have improved over the past year and should see playing time as well.

    Link on my name for video interview of da boys (3rd article). It was either Carl Clapp or Gordy Shaw who told me that UH is playing NAU in 2012. Gordy used to coach at NAU.

    Thanks, Doris!


  164. Slugger July 26, 2010 6:00 pm

    jm2375,

    Are you going to be able to watch at the Redskins training camp?


  165. Ralph July 26, 2010 6:08 pm

    we playing Northern Arizona University in football? I guess when the media and coaches don’t show much respect for our team, we got to play teams we can beat to pad our win column, our AD reflection of his charges is to schedule teams we can compete with and hopefully beat. I guess we are not trying to impress anyone with our schedule or thinking out of the box on how UH will be viewed in the next round of realignment


  166. Ralph July 26, 2010 6:10 pm

    I can feel the glare and heat from slugger!


  167. Slugger July 26, 2010 6:18 pm

    It might just be that Gordy has a contact there, although he coached there from 1982-84. I took a look at the NAU schedule & I couldn’t find their future schedules, so I don’t know how true that scheduled game is.


  168. jm2375 (Backflip) July 26, 2010 6:28 pm

    Slugger – probably not. I’m the only skins fan in the family. If I was by myselfm…


  169. A-House July 26, 2010 7:01 pm

    Rainbow Cliff:

    Could be wrong, but Timmy Chang, I believe, is part of UH staff as a graduate assistant – unsure what he is responsible for.


  170. A-House July 26, 2010 7:02 pm

    Shoko:

    #131 – sitting at the Seattle airport on 7/12/10, I noticed an Alaska plane painted for University of Oregon and Washington.


  171. A-House July 26, 2010 7:09 pm

    MichiganWarrior:

    Know you’re alseep by now, read your post, got your email and glad all went well


  172. A-House July 26, 2010 7:17 pm

    Cliff:

    Try Pleasant Holidays – my bother-in-law stays with us but flies with them from LA to Honolulu.

    Understand they have very good rates.

    As a former UH student athlete, are you allowed to use UH tennis courts? Touch base with Don Weir as tennis season is in the Spring.


  173. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 7:18 pm

    Tim Chang is still studying for his Bachelor’s so is not a grad assistant. I think he works for the Athletic Dept, though.


  174. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 7:19 pm

    Ashley Lelie also is studying for his Bachelors, and works for the Athletic Dept.


  175. Shoko July 26, 2010 7:22 pm

    A-House,
    Okay, then it was probably Horizon Airlines. I know Oregon, Oregon State, Washington and Washington State have their logos on Alaska Airlines.


  176. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 7:26 pm

    I really like Panda Travel. They did a good job setting up my trips to Tokyo in 2008 and to Hong Kong in 2010.


  177. Shoko July 26, 2010 7:30 pm

    Ralph,
    All WAC teams have softened their schedule with at least on team. Boise State last year played UC Davis, Miami (OH), Bowling Green and this year play Toledo. Boise State’s schedule was probably ranked the weakest of all WAC teams. WAC members usually try to show some love to the FCS teams such as Nevada plays Eastern Washington and Fresno State plays Cal Poly.


  178. Shoko July 26, 2010 7:41 pm

    I was watching an interview of Kaepernick stating that Donte Moch ran a 4.2 40 in the combine. More than once! Yikes! Double Yikes!


  179. Dennis Halloran July 26, 2010 7:50 pm

    Chad Owens is still leading the CFL in Yd’s gaines


  180. d1島 July 26, 2010 7:59 pm

    **Fuud Alert**

    Watching Diners, Drive-ins and Dives and Guy Fieri is at the

    Blue Plate Diner in Salt Lake City

    Fresh made (I mean, they make it from scratch in-house) Corned beef hash and eggs among a lot of other great looking dishes in really Tsaiko-sized Tservings!


  181. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 8:04 pm

    d1, I am not a fan of corned beef… despite the fact that hubby is irish American…


  182. d1島 July 26, 2010 8:15 pm

    Better not go to SLC then!


  183. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 8:23 pm

    i have never been to Utah, but my daughter wants to get her master’s at the Univ of Utah.


  184. Ralph July 26, 2010 8:50 pm

    Shoko UH and the WAC already and has a perception of being a weak football conference-ESPN, BCS members and their fans, and even the MWC-adding the lower tier teams to our schedule enhances that perception. UH and the rest of the WAC got to upgrade their schedule and win. Schedule the BCS teams, start will those teams that are on the lower half of their standings. Nothing wrong in scheduling the oregon states, wazzu, UCLA and Udub when their teams are struggling, USC is a good attraction but a reach to beat compared to the 4 teams listed . and i know someone will say the schedule is set for another 10 years, where were we when the schedules were open


  185. J July 26, 2010 9:01 pm

    SDSU considers cutting out-of-state recruiting.

    “According to SDSU, a one-year scholarship costs $29,767 for out-of-state students and $17,491 for California residents. That means that SDSU could give 17 in-state scholarships for about the same cost as 10 out-of-state scholarships.”

    http://www.signonsandiego.com/news/2010/jul/26/sdsu-considers-cutting-out-of-state-recruiting/


  186. d1島 July 26, 2010 9:06 pm

    Hope she likes corned beef!


  187. Shoko July 26, 2010 9:28 pm

    Ralph,
    Our nonconference games 2010 include: USC, Army, Colorado, UNLV and one FCS team Charleston Southern.

    2009 season we played: Washington State, UNLV, Navy and Wisconsin with one FCS team Central Arkansas.

    2008 season we played: Florida, Oregon State, Washington State, Cincinnati and one FCS team Weber State.

    So, although this season schedule is not as tough as years past, I still wouldn’t consider it a cake walk. Playing FCS teams like NAU is a common occurence, not just the WAC, but even the BCS conferences.

    Anyway, way past my bedtime. Have a good night, sir.


  188. Ralph July 26, 2010 9:50 pm

    shoko only USC is playing good football of the non conference teams, Army is in deep kim chee, hopefully Ellerson will bring them out of the doldrums, Colorado’s Hawkins buffaloes have struggled since he got there from BSU, UNLV marquee win was UH, they got stumped the rest of the season and charleton southern is charleston southern, what can i say-weak. add WAC weaklings, maybe perceived, but they are near the bottom of all power rankings-NMST, Utah State, SJST, Idaho and La tech, you got the makings of a weak football schedule. many bloggers posted the need to win over the next two seasons, but we got to have quality wins to make UH attractive when the new rankings come out if we want to be part of any conference, we could easily be left out of all realignments


  189. Ralph July 26, 2010 10:01 pm

    shoko that being said, i don’t mind UH playing wazzu, unlv, army, navy, colorado and osu, but not the fcs teams. we can compete with the lower division teams of the pac 10 and big 12, and having usc, wisconsin and florida helps program gage itself but not all of them in the same season.


  190. Ralph July 26, 2010 10:03 pm

    shoko did we chase everyone away 🙂


  191. Dave Reardon July 26, 2010 10:10 pm

    172, 176: I’m pretty sure Timmy Chang is not working at the athletic department. From what I understand, he was up for a position in compliance last year as a student assistant but it did not materialize.


  192. gigi-hawaii July 26, 2010 10:19 pm

    Nice to see that Reardon reads Tsai’s blog.


  193. Dave Reardon July 26, 2010 10:31 pm

    I read pretty much everything on the Star-Advertiser site.


  194. Curt July 26, 2010 11:15 pm

    Howzit RainbowCliff,

    Tennis trips can be fun with friends. When I was single and lived in the Bay area, we went to Carmel, Tahoe, Konocti, etc. I think the challenge in Honolulu will be reserving court time as most courts are public and have high usage by the locals.


  195. Curt July 26, 2010 11:20 pm

    Watch out. DR is checking us out. Don’t say anything mean about him…even if he’s against the student athletic fee. 🙂


  196. LizKauai (iPad) July 26, 2010 11:33 pm

    197. Jm2375 you need to say hi to Colt! Heh heh. Hell week for the Skins.


  197. LizKauai (iPad) July 26, 2010 11:34 pm

    200. Nitey nite and sweet Warrior Dreams!


  198. Capitol -ist/WassupDoc July 26, 2010 11:43 pm

    Oh, well, time will tell. Glass is half full or half empty. Never could figure which one represented optimism and which one pessimism.

    Be prepared. Be very, very prepared.


  199. Capitol -ist/WassupDoc July 26, 2010 11:47 pm

    A quick report on Sunday’s community service project:

    We filled 97 bags of trash – each one holding 35 gallons of STUFF – plus picked up five tv sets, three microwave ovens, two mattresses, half a dozen assorted pieces of somewhat broken furniture, and 77 tires along one and two-thirds of a mile of Kapa`a Quarry Road in just under two hours. Plus two dead pigs and a dead dog.

    We didn’t have enough people to do the entire 2.5 miles.

    About 20 of us wound up at Boardrider’s Sports Bar afterwards for 6 pizzas, 4 calzones, 4 plates of nachos, and multiple plates of fried mozzarella & edamame. Plus cold beverages by the gallon.


  200. Capitol -ist/WassupDoc July 26, 2010 11:50 pm

    Next service project day – Saturday morning, August 21, followed by hosted barbecue & cold beverages. More info to come in about two weeks.


  201. Michigan Warrior July 27, 2010 1:56 am

    There are other issues with scheduling that is out of our hands. Most of the bigger teams/conferences make more money for their home games than they do coming to Honolulu. So, they would rather play UH on their terms, not ours. We’ve been lucky in scheduling USC… but will the series continue with the installation of a new coach and Athletic Director?
    Also, due to everyone being in conference by the end of September, it leaves us little room to try to get another team here before our conference season begins, or after it ends. Most times, it’s the D-II schools who are more than willing to jostle their schedule around, so they can take a bigger paycheck back home after visiting the islands.
    Yeah, it would be good if we could just stick with D-I teams, but we’re gonna have to do the majority of the traveling. Easier said than done. Plus, we also want to be competitive in those games, and not just schedule them for the paychecks. With every non-conference game on the road, would fair weather fans attend games at Aloha Stadium just to see us playing WAC teams? Yeah, our budget will probably be balanced much sooner, but at what cost? The physical turmoil of being on the road for the majority of every season will take it’s toil on our won-loss column too.


  202. Michigan Warrior July 27, 2010 1:58 am

    #202… Outstanding work! Thank you for a job well done!


  203. […] WAC Football Preview: Day 1 – Hawaii News – Staradvertiser.com […]


  204. chanel watches July 28, 2010 3:13 am

    Funny and right on! rolex gmt master ii


  205. sexystudentD July 29, 2010 4:09 am

    Awesome blog! Keep up the good work! If anyone is interested in getting a college degree online, here is a link: http://get-online-degree-now.info . Just throwing my 2 cents 🙂 Best to all!


  206. spc01 July 29, 2010 3:04 pm

    it was very interesting to read warriorbeat.honadvblogs.com
    I want to quote your post in my blog. It can?
    And you et an account on Twitter?


  207. ugg slippers July 29, 2010 9:07 pm

    Said these many, if adds on some splendid picture that to be able again to be more outstanding.


  208. Tanner Karls August 1, 2010 5:58 am

    Have you at any time deemed adding a lot more movies for your web site posts to maintain the visitors much more entertained? I imply I just read over the total document of yours and it absolutely was really great but since I am much more of a visual learner.


  209. abykqqbogvn August 1, 2010 8:12 am

    33QeZP xmsbaydcqnlm, [url=http://ycmuxkgqbnvw.com/]ycmuxkgqbnvw[/url], [link=http://auyscfqmntyh.com/]auyscfqmntyh[/link], http://zlxkmqtikaog.com/


  210. snmaster.idx August 2, 2010 6:46 pm

    I need it very much£¬where can I download it?


  211. webvideomant7 August 4, 2010 9:23 am

    Nice website! I haven’t bumped on warriorbeat.honadvblogs.com before in my surfing!
    Keep up the great work! I think this video might be relevant to the site: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiHOLMIh0Jo


  212. birthday supplies August 5, 2010 11:02 pm

    Fantastic blog! I genuinely love how it’s effortless on my eyes and also the details is well written. I am wondering how I may be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!


  213. Milton Mainey August 6, 2010 8:16 pm

    Hiya , I spottet a great way to make lots and lots of money online making blogs. I presume this is primaraly for the website bloggers but there are probably more bloggers reading this. I have already made thousands using the techniques explained in the product and it has only been 2 months. Free Money Making Blog By Blogging To The Bank


  214. Ted Goldfarb August 7, 2010 6:27 am

    Why did you remove my post… My post was actually useful unlike most of these comments. Ill post it again. Hey guys, I’ve a brilliant way to make a lot of money online blogging. I expect this is probably for the website admin but there are probably more bloggers reading this. I have made thousands using the techniques explained in the product and it has only been 2 months. Free Money Making Blog By Blogging To The Bank


  215. Katia Seifer August 7, 2010 9:18 pm

    scrubs was hilarious with zach braff…what is he working on these days? is he directing any new movies?


  216. Ligia Tallas August 8, 2010 11:54 am

    Natalya Dalponte


  217. Johana Munkberg August 16, 2010 10:21 pm

    Undoubtedly, the biggest benefit of dental tourism is cost savings. Some countries are able to provide top quality dental care at a low cost because of low labor and administrative costs in those countries. http://www.dentaldestinationsdds.com


  218. bathroom rugs August 17, 2010 1:18 pm

    Hey I love your style I will subscribe for your feed please keep posting!


  219. laser hemorrhoidectomy locations August 17, 2010 4:54 pm

    Wow! Remarkable post! This is what the Internet is really about!


  220. party supplies August 17, 2010 5:51 pm

    Wonderful blog! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!


  221. laser hemorrhoidectomy August 17, 2010 6:10 pm

    Fantastic work on the blog! It inspires me to keep up work on my site!


  222. Barrett Marcucci August 17, 2010 6:52 pm

    Selecting the best Nashville lawyer can be annoying. I don’t know what I would have done without the guy I have. They is amazing. He has gotten me out of a lot of mess. I am always gratefull to have someone representing me in TN. How do ya’ll locate good lawyers? I am always looking to locate the best for the best cash. Thanks for any advice or help!


  223. Dermatologist salary August 17, 2010 10:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing. It is good information.


  224. laser hemorrhoidectomy surgery August 17, 2010 10:29 pm

    I like the layout of your blog. It is really brilliant and I’m thinking about a similiar layout for my site!


  225. laser hemorrhoidectomy doctor August 17, 2010 10:33 pm

    Do you guest post? I’d be honored if you would guest post on my blog!


  226. laser hemorrhoidectomy information August 17, 2010 10:35 pm

    Do you guest post? I’d be thankful if you would guest post on my blog!


  227. laser hemorrhoidectomy surgery August 18, 2010 12:03 am

    Wow! Awesome post! This is what the Internet is really about!


  228. best forex signal provider August 18, 2010 4:21 am

    Great read. I found your site from a google search, and was glad i did. The information has helped me immensely.


  229. laser hemorrhoidectomy information August 18, 2010 5:10 am

    Seriously! This is a really fantastic post! Keep up the excellent work!


  230. laser hemorrhoidectomy surgery August 18, 2010 5:22 am

    Seriously! This is a really great post! Keep up the wonderful work!


  231. niche websites for sale August 18, 2010 9:06 am

    Damn, awesome website. I actually came across this on Bing, and I am happy I did. I will definately be coming back here more often. Wish I could add to the posts here and bring a bit more to the table, but am just absorbing as much info as I can at the moment.


  232. niche websites for sale August 18, 2010 9:14 am

    I was intrigued and impressed by this article. Huge thumbs up. Many thanks.


  233. Dentist Boca Raton August 18, 2010 9:20 am

    I continuously enjoy volunteering at the home for the aged near our home . I find it very gratifying to spend quality time with the elders there and they have countless things to share about life in general which is worth learning.


  234. birthday party supplies August 18, 2010 10:43 am

    Good blog! I genuinely love how it is easy on my eyes and also the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!


  235. trentonric August 18, 2010 1:24 pm

    taken 2009 vectors attributed difficult suggest [url=http://yro.slashdot.org]agreement deep[/url] http://www.ipa.go.jp


  236. Monty Koll August 18, 2010 2:29 pm

    Not to be a broken record….but in the Business world an associate degree won’t get you very far. If you’re looking to move up the corporate ladder, a bachelor’s degree is the bare minimum. You can always get into a Bachelor program and earn the Associate degree along the way.


  237. Kerry Lockbaum August 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    i had no idea mila kunis was the voice of meg on family guy


  238. brighter smile now August 18, 2010 9:59 pm

    Great articles and content very informative looking forward to reading more.


  239. download from Tnaflix August 18, 2010 10:06 pm

    This is very good article, I am under impressed read them was a pleasure.


  240. Ona Schmautz August 19, 2010 3:45 am

    Each and every piece of writing I have checked out is really properly written and published as well as to the point. I might moreover want to state, not just are the particular posts good written, but your design of the website is excellent. It was simple to get around from post to article and select everything that I was looking for with no difficulty. Continue up the awesome give good results you are performing, and I will be back numerous times in the near future.


  241. Shella Delfi August 19, 2010 1:02 pm

    Slan form cheap ugg boots


  242. ceh books August 19, 2010 2:30 pm

    Do you mean like internet security? There are computer security degrees, and many CS and CIS programs offer an internet security track. However, I haven’t come across any of these that have an "ethics" course directly related to hacking. I’d imagine they’re out there though. Good luck in your search.


  243. article directories August 20, 2010 1:38 pm

    writing is boring, it is definitely worth every bit of time that you spend on it.


  244. birthday party supplies August 20, 2010 4:24 pm

    Wonderful blog! I truly love how it’s easy on my eyes and also the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!


  245. sex cams August 20, 2010 4:25 pm

    Interesting topic. I plan to build my first blog, based on similar topics to those from here. Thanks for the work that you do for this blog!


  246. free movie streaming August 20, 2010 5:49 pm

    i found nice articles here wow!!.


  247. craigslist software August 20, 2010 9:51 pm

    Keep up the amazing work!! I love how you wrote this and I also like the colors here on this site. did you create this yourself or did you outsource it to a coder??


  248. sex cams August 21, 2010 12:54 pm

    I am a new visitor of this blog, I like the information found here. I watch your topics every day.


  249. radiowerbung August 21, 2010 9:13 pm

    Thank you to make sharing that. I was searching to get for that great info some days ago. So genuinely nice to get it here.


  250. Lorriane Cherenfant August 21, 2010 11:19 pm

    Hey really nice blog, I discovered your web site when I was investigation on how to enhance my web log. I was just now inquiring what spam pluggin you utilize for comments as I get a great deal on my blogs.


  251. Ccc Cleaner August 22, 2010 5:51 am

    Yes, it may be worth a try if you want to optimize your PC


  252. Watch Full Movies Online August 22, 2010 9:09 am

    I would like to thank you for your efforts you have made in making this post. I am hoping the same nice content from you in the future as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to start my own blog. Really blogging is spreading its wings wide. Your blog post is a fine example of it.


  253. Lorri Grant August 22, 2010 12:03 pm

    thats a great article!
    keep doing this huge job!
    free release downloads


  254. Nannie Pattison August 22, 2010 12:05 pm

    Sorry for the possible off-topic, but i need to inquire your guys assistance with something. I just bought a new computer and have been have been having a few troubles with it. For starters I bought the Intel quad core q6300 processor, 3GB or ram, 240GB of hard-drive, and a 8800gts graphics card. Now i’ve installed a few games and nothing seems to work and I keep getting compatability faults. I tried world of warcraft, far cry 2 and was going to try Crysis, but figured I’d rather not with the luck that im getting. Any help with this issue is much appreciated.


  255. CT Used Cars August 23, 2010 2:54 am

    We need to be very careful while buying a car and should always consult experienced people. I own a chrysler and got it from a local dealer.The car has great interiors and I have absolutely no complains about it till date.


  256. party supplies August 23, 2010 12:02 pm

    Wonderful blog! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the details are well written. I am wondering how I may be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!


  257. Milo Quain August 23, 2010 1:58 pm

    In the beginning just remember it was darked and then someone smiled! try this:

    Tracers work both ways. 🙂


  258. How to set goals at work August 23, 2010 11:24 pm

    Hello, I do not normally post feedback on web sites, as I prefer to read only. However I find the article that you have written earlier has very insightful information, and I discover it very informational. I was searching on Aol 4 how to set goals thoughts and discovered your valuable article. Could you create something the same unique on how to set goals? Thank you. ~ Genevie Burklow


  259. Katherine Thurmon August 24, 2010 3:02 am

    It is refreshingto see such quality on blogs in the industry good to see


  260. smokeless cigarettes August 24, 2010 7:42 pm

    Whack at using our electronic cigarette as a safer alternative. Smokeless cigarettes are proper increasingly more stock extent smokers and at the end of the day to be quitters.


  261. Eugene Klawuhn August 25, 2010 2:26 am

    Wonderful posting and definitely assists with becoming familiar with the issue better.


  262. George Rasey August 25, 2010 5:11 am

    Clocks is pretty much the most important thing in life. I think…


  263. Jerold Koeppel August 25, 2010 6:33 am

    The pattern for losing weight is easy – eat less food and workout more – the difficulties surface when we really try to put that into practice! There are loads of temptations in the big wide world aren’t there?! I uncovered some excellent information by visiting the web portal in the box below, they have loads of guidance, I lost 10 pounds by using their methods.


  264. Isabel Malloch August 25, 2010 6:58 am

    Greetings, Info the internet supplied within this web site. We wants to share garden greenhouses too. Bedbugs (or perhaps mattress insects) are generally smaller, hard-to-find, parasitic the insect life of the family Cimicidae. The word commonly is the word for varieties which feast preferentially with the blood of humans; most insects on this family members live and eat providing solely within the body regarding warm-blooded pets.[1[]|][2[]|] The name ‘bedbug’ is derived from that insect’s favorite home regarding infesting households in addition to particularly bed frames as well as other popular areas where people today might sleeping. Bedbugs, nevertheless definitely not just night time, are mainly energetic during the night time and also are prepared for eating unseen about its hosting companies.Bedbugs were identified by many different brands which includes wall louse, mahogany smooth, crimson rambler, major dragoon, chinche along with redcoat. You’ll find more details to provide you withunited kingdom


  265. Cristopher Thamann August 25, 2010 8:38 am

    Your perspective is excellent. I feel that we really should carry on this way and see this takes place.


  266. hair removal service August 25, 2010 9:32 am

    Superb article ,I really appreciated with it, This is finicky to read and valuable on behalf of outlook,I really bookmark it, on behalf of expand read. Credit on behalf of sharing.I like it.


  267. hair removal service August 25, 2010 10:13 am

    Several of the details of this write-up are generally excellent however had me personally asking, did they seriously suggest that? One thing I have to point out is your publishing knowledge are very excellent and I would be returning back for any brand-new blog post you produce, you may well have a completely new supporter. I book-marked the site for personal reference.


  268. hair removal service August 25, 2010 11:12 am

    Good for being going to your blog site yet again, it has been months for me. Very well this article that i’ve been waited for so extended. I require this content to comprehensive my assignment inside the college, plus it has identical topic with your posting. Many thanks, great share.


  269. party supplies August 25, 2010 11:56 am

    Excellent blog! I really love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the facts are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!


Comments are closed.