Polynesian Football Hall of Fame class unveiled

Three stars from Hawaii are among the next incoming class of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame which was announced Tuesday.

Junior Ah You (Kahuku, Arizona State), Chris Naeole (Kahuku, Colorado) and Ma’a Tanuvasa (Mililani, Hawaii) were all college and pro football standouts who first made their marks as prep stars on Oahu.

Naeole, now the offensive line coach at the University of Hawaii, attended today’s announcement at the Sheraton Waikiki. So did about half of the Rainbow Warriors coaching staff and about a dozen players.

“I found out (Monday) night and told Rolo (head coach Nick Rolovich) I might have to leave practice early,” Naeole said and then laughed. “I guess he sent out a group text.”

Riki Ellison (USC) rounds out the players who will be inducted Jan. 21 and 22 during the PFHOF’s enshrinement weekend.

John Manumaleuna will also be enshrined, as a contributor.

Also on Jan. 21, the first Polynesian Bowl high school all-star game will be played at Aloha Stadium.

See polynesianfootballhof.org and polynesianbowl.com for more information.